deutsche version
Contact: 0049 3944 362260


Blankenburg Mills

Hydropower was already important for agriculture and handicrafts in the Middle Ages. Correspondingly, artificial watercourses were created in and around Blankenburg (Harz) from the 12th century and water mills fed from them. Some parts of the at least five mills within and seven outside the city wall are still visible today or have been reconstructed. The buildings of the Upper Mill above the castle gardens and the Münzmühle (Coin Mill) are still preserved.



The Obermühle (Upper Mill) is visible from afar due to its location on the Schlossberg. It was first mentioned in 1453. Modifications to the mill were made in the 19th century. In 1855 a water turbine was installed. A few years ago, the building was completely renovated and has been used as a restaurant and guesthouse ever since.



The Regensteinmühle (Regenstein Mill), which is located west of Regenstein, was a water-powered grain mill that belonged to the castle from the 12th to 16th centuries. It was uncovered again and equipped with two mill wheels. On romantic forest trails, it is an ideal hiking destination.

Our hiking routes No. 6 and No. 7 offer you the ideal paths to the Regensteinmühle:

Hiking routes


Coin Mill

The mill was named after the nearby medieval coin. The completely preserved mill technology dates from the beginning of the 20th century.



Explore the former watermills of Blankenburg with our Mill Flyer.






Mill Fyer